Author: Callie

A Toast to Imperfection and Gratitude

The New Year. This is the time we are supposed to reflect on the year past, considering all we lived well, and regenerating our mistakes into well thought out goals for next year.  Sometimes I think my goals are just a way to satisfy the cognitive dissonance between the person I wish I had been and the person I actually was. Didn’t follow your diet?  It’s ok.  Next year.  Didn’t read that book?  It’s ok.  Next year.  Relationships not quite what you wanted?  No problem; 2018 will solve every 2017 woe.  Except we know that’s not true.  We know...

Read More

5 Stages of Grief Within Chronic Disease – The Finale

We made it. We’ve cruised through grief (more like bumped, and skidded, and shredded our way through, but still), and we’re at the final stage, which is acceptance.  Now, remember, these are purely my adulterations of Dr. Kubler-Ross’s stages of grief, conformed to the process of grief we go through within chronic disease.  Were I very motivated, I would go back to graduate school and research the heck out of this idea, but alas…three kids, done with school and not motivated, so I am simply sharing my theories on the concept of grief within chronic disease. Acceptance Many hear...

Read More

5 Stages of Grief Within Chronic Disease – Part 3

Explanation of Absence Friends.  I got a puppy.  I have been preoccupied with said puppy as he beguiles me with his adorable cuteness and frustrates me with his frequent poop and pee sprinkles all over the floors of my house.  (I am sharing a handful of puppy photos to make up for being gone.  Tank has his own insta account.  Follow him @monsieurtank if you want more!) We also hosted both sides of our family for Thanksgiving for the first time, which. was. awesome. (seriously – no sarcasm.  It was honestly awesome.)  I have wanted to host for so...

Read More

5 Stages of Grief Within Chronic Disease – Part 2

This is part two of my series on grief as it exists within chronic disease.  If you missed Part 1, please click here.  All caught up?  Great!  Let’s move on. 3. Bargaining (1 and 2 in Part 1 – see above) Let’s Make a Deal The next stage in grief, according to Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, is bargaining. Bargaining is simply offering something, for something in return (just what the word implies).  Typically, when dealing with the death of a loved one, it involves bargaining with a higher power: If I do this, will you please bring them back. Within...

Read More

5 Stages of Grief Within Chronic Disease – Part 1

Grief is a passenger.  This is weird because all of a sudden you have this stranger sitting next to you.  You have no idea who you just picked up.  It could be this sweatheart of a guy who is going to help you recover from this ordeal in the easiest and smoothest of ways, taking you for a cruise when it’s all over. Or, she could also be a serial killer.  She could make this devastating and tumultous and just about kill you in the process. Even the most intense of grief researchers will agree that there is no...

Read More

Subscribe for Free eBook